It has been quite a tradition for every year or so, me and my friends would travel to either around the Philippines or around Asia for several days or so..we actually call ourselves Extremely Happy Explorers aka E.H.E. Now don’t get me started on how that name came about..;) For 2016, we got to check on some good fares to Hong Kong, besides it was an easy two-hour flight from Manila…

 

There was a seat sale to Hong Kong on Air Asia, though when they booked, I still wasn’t sure about my schedule so I booked my own ticket on Cathay Pacific. It was discounted, and I thought it was a good way to experience what its like to fly on one of the world’s leading airlines.

We booked a three-star hotel in Mongkok and was just a few blocks away from the MTR station. Roughly, the 4-day (my friends were booked for five) itinerary looked like this:

  • Arrival day: Mongkok area/Ladies Market
  • Day one: Kowloon/shopping
  • Day two: Hong Kong Island / Disneyland
  • Day three: Macau/Nong Ping
  • Day four: Central/shopping/departure

20160129_125507

Everyone was stoked to start off the year with a bang with my birthday just a few days away after the trip. It would all take an unexpected twist on my arrival…

